Connect with us


Formation of Historic New Limerick City And County Council Revealed










Image by David Woodland.

Image by David Woodland.

The Limerick Local Election Count has now been completed and forty councillors have been elected to the newly merged Limerick City and County Council.

The make up of the new Council is as follows:

Fianna Fail 13

Fine Gael 12

Sinn Fein 6

AAA (Anti Austerity Alliance) 3

Labour 3

Independents/Non Party 3


Brigid Teefy (NP) was the first candidate elected after she topped the poll in the Cappamore-Kilmallock area (7 seats). Eddie Ryan (FF) and Lisa Marie Sheehy (SF) were also elected on the first count. Noel Gleeson (FF) was elected on the fifth count, Michael Donegan (FF), Gerard Mitchell, (FG) and Bill O’Donnell (FG) were elected on the sixth count without reaching the quota.


In Limerick City North (6 seats), Maurice Quinlivan (SF) topped the poll on the first count. Michael Hourigan (FG) and Cian Prendiville(AAA) were elected on the ninth count. Frankie Daly (Lab) was elected on the tenth count. John Gilligan (NP) and Joe Crowley (FF) were elected on the eleventh count.


In Limerick City East (8 seats), Seighin O’Ceallaigh (SF) and Shane Clifford (FF) were both elected on the first count. Kieran O’Hanlon (FF) was elected on the tenth count with Paul Keller (AAA) elected on the twelfth. Michael Sheahan (FG), Elena Secas (Lab), Marian Hurley (FG) Jerry O’Dea (FF) were all elected on the 15th count without reaching the quota.

In Limerick City West (7 seats), James Collins (FF) was first to be elected followed by Maria Byrne (FG). Joe Leddin (Lab) was elected on the fourth count. Daniel Butler (FG) was elected on the 12th count.  Without reaching the quota, Malachy McCreesh (SF), John Loftus (AAA) and Sean Lynch (FF) were elected.


In NewcastleWest (6 seats) Jerome Scanlan (FG) topped the poll. Michael Collins (FF) and Liam Galvin (FG) were elected after count three. Seamus Browne (SF), Francis Foley (FF) and John Sheahan (FG) gained seats at the seventh count.


In Adare-Rathkeale (6 seats), Emmet O’Brien (NP) topped the poll followed by Tom Neville (FG). Stephen Keary (FG) was elected on the third count. Kevin Sheahan (FF), Richard O’Donoghue (FF) and Ciara McMahon (SF) were all elected on the 8th count this afternoon (Monday) without reaching the quota.

The total electorate for the six Limerick electoral areas was 141, 297.

Manager Conn Murray welcomed the newly elected members of Limerick City and County Council.

“A new political structure has now been created representing an historic change for local government in Limerick,” he said. “I look forward to working with all the new Councillors, it’s fantastic to see the mixture of youth and experience that has emerged which is clearly representative of the voice of Limerick. This fusion of energy and knowledge presents an exciting opportunity for the years ahead which will undoubtedly be challenging.” 

The first meeting of the new Limerick City and County Council will take place on Friday, 6th June.







Richard is a presenter, producer, songwriter and actor. He was named the Limerick Person of the Year (2011) and won an online award at the Metro Éireann Media and Multicultural Awards (2011) for promoting multi-culturalism online. Richard says that the concept is very much a community driven project that aims to document life in Limerick. So, that in 20 years time people can look back and remember the events that were making the headlines.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.