Connect with us
Games Fleadh 2020 Games Fleadh 2020


Games Fleadh 2020 sees LIT win 4 categories

Games Fleadh 2020 – Griffith College Limerick’s Jocimara Melo, Alex Porfirio and Caoilinn Waldron 3rd place in the Robocode series. Picture: Alan Place

Games Fleadh 2020 sees LIT win 4 categories

Limerick Institute of Technology (LIT) won four categories at the hotly contested Irish Games Fleadh 2020, which was held at the LIT, Thurles Campus.

The number of competitors taking part this year at Games Fleadh 2020 was at a record high, with a total of 27 entries from nine colleges vying for one of the coveted titles or hoping to come out victorious in the Robocode series.


Games Fleadh 2020

Photographed at Games Fleadh 2020 were Best in Game Mechanics, LIT’s Amaze-Mint: Race to Rob a Bank, Justin Reece and Diego Tong presented with their prize by Janice O’Connell, Head of Department of IT LIT and Liam Noonan, Lecturer LIT. Picture: Alan Place

Hundreds of software developers and game enthusiasts attended the daylong event that showcased the best of the third level game development community.

Games Fleadh 2020 also allowed second and third-level students to explore possible careers in an industry worth €148.8 billion, and learn more about the social conscience of the gaming world.

Teams from LIT won Best in Game Mechanics; Best Multiplayer Game; Best in Use of Physics Algorithms; and Best Video Game Trailer. 

Griffith College Limerick’s Jocimara Melo, Alex Porfirio and Caoilinn Waldron came third in the Robocode series.  

Congratulating all competitors and winners, President of LIT Professor Vincent Cunnane said, “Games Fleadh continues to lead the way in recognising the brightest and best among the country’s student game developers, while also bringing together the collective knowledge of some of the leading names in the gaming industry. Now in its 17th year, I am pleased that Games Fleadh, here at LIT, Thurles Campus, continues to go from strength to strength.”  

Games Fleadh 2019 Organiser and Game Design & Development Degree Lecturer at LIT Dr Liam Noonan paid tribute to the international companies that continue to support the event year on year. “Without sponsors such as Microsoft and the support of companies such as Havok and EA, Ireland’s Games Fleadh would not be the success that it is every year. I would also like to acknowledge the support of Irish charity Trocaire this year, who’s representatives discussed with students the powerful impact games can make in the areas of climate justice, human rights and sustainable development goals.”

Dr Janice O’Connell Head of Department of Information Technology at LIT paid tribute to the organisers.

“I am very proud of the Department of IT members today, and their passion, enthusiasm, and determination to drive and organise this year’s Games Fleadh. The 2020 theme addressed social conscience and positive world change, which was evident through the variety of extremely high calibre games on display. This was once again a super day thanks to a wonderful event that highlighted the skill and abilities here at LIT. Congratulations to all involved, and particular thanks to Dr Liam Noonan for his extraordinary efforts in making the event a huge success.”

List of Winners, Games Fleadh 2020:

Competition Teams College                                  

Best in Game Mechanics Amaze-Mint. LIT

Best Multiplayer Game Snake and Dragons LIT

Best in Use of Physics Algorithms Mini Golf Dungeon LIT

Best Video Game Trailer Amaze-Mint LIT 

Best in Original Audio Music Displacement WIT

Best in Original Digital Art 2D Get to the Sun TU Dublin

Best in Team Performance Zeph TU Dublin

Best in Social Impact Ourea TU Dublin

Best in Use of OO Evil Castle TU Dublin

Best game Built using a Game Engine Ourea TU Dublin

Best in User Interface Design Build A Maze IT Carlow

Best Original Innovation in Gaming Build A Maze IT Carlow

Best in Use of AI Algorithms The Swarm! IT Carlow

Best game built using Software Libraries The Swarm! IT Carlow

Best in Original Story Midnight Mass GMIT

Best in use of 3D Rupture GMIT

Robocode Winner:

1. Eoin Galavan, Carlow IT.

2. Kate Rice, Samuel Olajide and Jessica Savage, Dundalk IT. 

3. Jocimara Melo, Alex Porfirio and Caoilinn Waldron, Griffith College Limerick.

For more on this story please click here. 

For more stories like this please click here. 

Richard is a presenter, producer, songwriter and actor. He was named the Limerick Person of the Year (2011) and won an online award at the Metro Éireann Media and Multicultural Awards (2011) for promoting multi-culturalism online. Richard says that the concept is very much a community driven project that aims to document life in Limerick. So, that in 20 years time people can look back and remember the events that were making the headlines.