Connect with us


PHOTOS Historical Munster Championship win as Limerick defeat Clare in Semple Stadium



Historical Munster Championship win as Limerick defeat Clare in Semple Stadium. Declan Hannon lifts the Mick Mackey Cup following Limerick’s historical Munster Championship win. Photo: Kieran Ryan Benson

Limerick Senior Hurlers win historical sixth Munster Championship Final in a row defeating Clare 1-26 to 1-20

Limerick Senior Hurlers win historical sixth Munster Championship Final in a row defeating Clare 1-26 to 1-20
Limerick Senior Hurlers beat Clare in the 2024 Munster Championship final making history as the first team to win six-in-a-row. Photo: Limerick GAA Twitter

Limerick fans showed up in their thousands to see their Senior Hurlers claim a historical sixth Munster Championship title in a row as the Treaty Men beat The Banner to bring the Mick Mackey Cup back home.

Following a delayed start to the game following a power cut at Semple Stadium, Thurles, Limerick overcame a hard-fighting Clare side who looked up for a challenge on the day as the teams swapped the lead throughout.

Prior to their incredible streak starting in 2019, Limerick won just one title from the previous 22 championships, showing the impact this era of players has had on what is a golden generation for the county.



A slow start from the throw-in for most Hurling standards as early wides on both sides made both teams look nervous for the occasion, the first score coming in the 5th minute of play with David Reidy putting Limerick in front.

Both sides displayed some wonderful hurling with standout performances from free-takers Diarmaid Byrnes, Aaron Gillane, and Tom Morrisey, but a man of the match performance from Gearóid Hegarty proved the difference between the two teams as the St Patrick’s man scored 1-2 from play.

Despite Clare pushing ahead at times in the first half, Limerick dominated when given the chance with key moments from Gillane, Shane O’Brien, and captain Declan Hannon giving the Treaty Men a lift.

The Banner looked like they were not going away, putting in a fight and trailing by three points just before halftime, Limerick’s lead was brought to level following a long free dropping short, a Nickie Quaid save wasn’t enough as a follow-up from Peter Duggan found the back of the Limerick net making it level.

Clare who looked like they were finding it hard to take from Limerick’s momentum found themselves level at the break and very much in the game.

Limerick came out in the second half aiming to take control of the game, and showing a renewed energy Limerick looked like a team on a mission with Gillanne putting over a free within the first minute of the half to restore the Limerick lead.

Despite a spirited performance from The Banner, the Limerick men proved too strong with scores coming few and far between for the Clare team in the opening period of the second half, not registering their first score until the 42nd minute.

The pivotal moment of the game came in the 46th minute when Gearoid Hegarty capitalised on an Eibhear Quilligan mistake, the Clare goalkeeper hesitated on a back pass and the quick-thinking Hegarty made it to the ball first and sent it into the far corner of the net as the Limerick fans erupted in Semple Stadium, making it Limerick 1-18 to Clare’s 1-12 and leaving the Banner with a mountain to climb.

Clare responded with some points of their own from David Fitzgerald and Ian Galvin, but Tom Morrissey and Hegarty kept the scoreboard ticking over for Limerick as they pressed their advantage.

When the final whistle blew, Limerick supporters swarmed the pitch to celebrate the historic 6-in-a-row title win; an achievement reflecting the Treaty Men’s dominance in Senior Hurling over recent years.

Speaking about the occasion, Limerick manager John Kiely said after the game, “We grew up as children looking in at these occasions, never thinking we’d ever be involved in them. We need to remind ourselves from time to time that these are just incredible occasions to be a part of once, let alone any other number of times after that.

“And we need to appreciate every single one of them because you never know the time is going to be your last time there. We understand and we appreciate that this is an incredible time.”

John noted the importance of winning the Munster Championship isn’t lost on them in a game of fine margins, saying, “It was really, really tight, when it boils down to it, and a few small little pieces, delighted to get the win, clearly, and it felt like our first.”

Next up with be an All-Ireland semi-final for Limerick on Sunday, July 7. Limerick will face quarter-final winners with those games set to be played on Saturday, June 22 when Dublin face off against either Cork or Offaly, and Clare face either Laois or Wexford.

Mayor Mitchell is congratulating John Kiely and the Limerick team and management who stood up to the challenge from an impressive Clare side at a packed Semple Stadium in Thurles.

Limerick will now push forward in the drive for five All-Ireland Championship wins in a row and Mayor Mitchell says the people of Limerick are backing them all the way:

“This Limerick team have etched their legacy in the annals of history, securing an unprecedented sixth consecutive Munster championship following a titanic battle in Thurles. We are the fortunate witnesses to a golden age of Limerick GAA. This remarkable, inspirational team carry the pride of Limerick into every game and everyone in Limerick is behind them 100%. On behalf of all Limerick people I extend heartfelt wishes for success as they advance to the All-Ireland Semi-Final, with aspirations of achieving a legendary five-title streak.”

Throw-in at Semple Stadium was delayed by half an hour due to a power outage. Mayor Mitchell feels this added to the sense of occasion:

“In the scheme of things the delay was minor and it added to the sense of anticipation. In the end it was a victory worth waiting for.”

Scorers for Limerick: Gearóid Hegarty 1-2; Diarmaid Byrnes (3f), Aaron Gillane (4f) 0-5 each; Tom Morrissey 0-4 (1f); Declan Hannon, Kyle Hayes, David Reidy, Shane O’Brien 0-2 each; Cathal O’Neill, Adam English 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: Aidan McCarthy 0-8 (6f); Peter Duggan 1-1; David Fitzgerald 0-4; Tony Kelly 0-3; Mark Rodgers 0-2 (2f); Shane O’Donnell, Ian Galvin 0-1 each.

Find out more here
Read more Limerick GAA stories here

Pictures: Cian Reinhardt/ilovelimerick

Richard is a presenter, producer, songwriter and actor. He was named the Limerick Person of the Year (2011) and won an online award at the Metro Éireann Media and Multicultural Awards (2011) for promoting multi-culturalism online. Richard says that the concept is very much a community driven project that aims to document life in Limerick. So, that in 20 years time people can look back and remember the events that were making the headlines.