Connect with us
James Collins James Collins


James Collins elected a new Mayor of the City and County of Limerick

Limerick City and County Council’s newly elected Mayor, Cllr James Collins in the Council Chambers in Dooradoyle, pictured with family . Picture: Keith Wiseman

James Collins elected a new Mayor of the City and County of Limerick

Fianna Fail’s James Collins has been elected the new Mayor of the City and County of Limerick. The newly elected Mayor was proposed by party colleague Michael Collins and seconded by another party colleague Kieran O’Hanlon.

In a packed council chamber in Dooradoyle, family, and friends of Cllr. Collins gathered in expectation ahead of the election.

Outgoing Mayor, Cllr Stephen Keary said his year was one of the greatest opportunities in his life and said he championed various issues throughout the past 12 months including the promotion of Limerick as a place to invest, the inclusion of groups not always involved in society and championing volunteerism.

Cllr Elena Secas (LAB) was proposed for the position of Mayor by her party colleague Joe Leddin and seconded by Sinn Fein’s Malachy McCreesh. Cllr Collins was elected by a 27 to 8 majority to become the fifth person to be elected as Mayor of the City and County of Limerick since the amalgamation of the two Limerick authorities.

Cllr Michael Collins (FF) was elected as Deputy Mayor beating Cmhr Seighin O Ceallaigh (SF).

In his winning address, Mayor James Collins said, “It’s a great honour to be elected Mayor, I never imagined that someday I would be elected.  I will do my best to represent both city and county.  There are many issues I would like to concentrate on, including education, which is one of the key reasons for the success of Limerick in recent years, employment, housing, transport and many community and arts and culture groups…The environment is a key issue as is crime and safety of our communities.”

The election of the Mayor of the City and County of Limerick is the culmination of a week of annual meetings of the metropolitan and municipal districts in Limerick.

Other election results are as follows: Limerick Metropolitan District – Daniel Butler, Mayor; Elenora Hogan, Deputy Mayor.  Adare-Rathkeale Municipal District – Adam Teskey, Cathaoirleach; Stephen Keary, Leas-Chathaoirleach. Cappamore-Kilmallock Municipal District – Eddie Ryan, Cathaoirleach; Bill O’Donnell, Leas-Chathaoirleach, and Newcastle West Municipal District – John Sheahan, Cathaoirleach; Liam Galvin, Leas-Chathaoirleach.


For more stories on the Limerick City and County Council go here.

For more info on Limerick City and County Council go here.

Richard is a presenter, producer, songwriter and actor. He was named the Limerick Person of the Year (2011) and won an online award at the Metro Éireann Media and Multicultural Awards (2011) for promoting multi-culturalism online. Richard says that the concept is very much a community driven project that aims to document life in Limerick. So, that in 20 years time people can look back and remember the events that were making the headlines.