Connect with us
MIC Munster GAA Bursary Recipients 2016/17 MIC Munster GAA Bursary Recipients 2016/17


MIC Munster GAA Bursary Recipients 2016/2017

MIC Munster GAA Bursary Recipients 2016/17. Pictured at the MIC Munster GAA Bursary Recipient Presentation 2016/2017 in Mary Immaculate College were Back row (L-R):Micheál Burns (Kerry Football); Daniel O Donoghue (Kerry Football); Caroline Hickey (Limerick Ladies Football); Christine Cooper (Kerry Ladies Football); Rebecca Delee (Limerick Camogie and Ladies Football); Caoimhe Costelloe (Limerick Camogie); Aaron Gillane (Limerick Hurling); Thomas Grimes (Limerick Hurling); Cillian Brennan (Clare Football).
Front row (L-R) Mr Joe Redington, Sports Officer, MIC; Professor Eugene Wall, Acting President MIC; Mr Liam Lenihan, Vice-Chairman Munster Council. Photo: Brian Gavin 

MIC Munster GAA Bursary Recipients 2016/2017 

The future leaders of Irish society and some of our brightest and best rising sports stars were recognised at the Mary Immaculate College Munster GAA Bursary 2016/2017 presentation on Monday, January 30.

Liam Lenihan, Vice-Chairman of Munster Council, presented the nine Munster GAA Bursaries valued at €750 each.  The successful MIC Munster GAA Bursary Recipients 2016/17 recipients were Caroline Hickey, Limerick Ladies Football and MIC Ladies Football Team Captain; Daniel O’Donoghue, Kerry Football; Christine Cooper, Kerry Ladies Football; Aaron Gillane, Limerick Football; Rebecca Delee, Limerick Camogie and Football; Cillian Brennan, Clare Football; Caoimhe Costelloe, Limerick Camogie and MIC Camogie Team Captain; Thomas Grimes, Limerick Hurling; Micheál Burns, Kerry Football.

Presenting the awards Mr Lenihan congratulated the recipients on their awards and on their hard-work and dedication to their respective sporting teams. He spoke about the wonderful tradition of GAA and sport here in MIC.  “So many MIC students have gone on to promote GAA in the schools that they now work in and I hope that you do similar.” “You are going to go out and be leaders in Irish society and I wish you all the best in your future studies and sporting endeavours”.

 Acting President of MIC, Professor Eugene Wall, thanked Munster GAA for their ongoing support with these bursaries. “This year has been a particularly auspicious year for sport in MIC, having won the Fitzgibbon Cup for the first time in our history. We have just introduced over €100,000 in entrance scholarships and it is thanks to initiatives like these Munster GAA Bursaries that we have seen how valuable scholarships like this really are.” He congratulated the recipients on all their achievements to date and urged them to continue to acquit themselves with distinction.

Well done to all the recipients.

For more on the Munster GAA Bursaries click here

For more on Mary Immaculate College click here

For more on Sport in Limerick click here

Richard is a presenter, producer, songwriter and actor. He was named the Limerick Person of the Year (2011) and won an online award at the Metro Éireann Media and Multicultural Awards (2011) for promoting multi-culturalism online. Richard says that the concept is very much a community driven project that aims to document life in Limerick. So, that in 20 years time people can look back and remember the events that were making the headlines.