Connect with us
Pillow Queens Pillow Queens


Dublin band Pillow Queens cover The Cranberries ‘When You’re Gone’



Pillow Queens pictured above have released their cover of The Cranberries ‘When You’re Gone’, which is the first song of the charity album Salvation coming out in October

Dublin band Pillow Queens cover The Cranberries ‘When You’re Gone’

By I Love Limerick Correspondent Jade Crowe

Dublin based band Pillow Queens have just released their cover of ‘When You’re Gone’ by The Cranberries.  

‘When you’re Gone’ was a featured single on The Cranberries album ‘To the Faithful Departed’, which recently celebrated its 25th anniversary.   

Pillow Queens

‘Salvation’ is a fundraiser for Pieta House and is an album of covers of The Cranberries songs

‘To the Faithful Departed’ was released on April 30, 1996, which brought the Limerick rock heroes to even further international fame. The album came after the band’s initial two albums including their debut, ‘Everybody Else is Doing It, So Why Can’t We?’ and of course, the second album that captivated the entire world, far beyond Limerick, ‘No Need to Argue.’ 

Pillow Queens who have released the tribute single are a Dublin based band. Last September, Pillow Queens released their debut album ‘In Waiting’, which proved to be a major hit. The band have even made their breakthrough on US television, appearing alongside figures such as James Corden. Pillow Queens will be embarking on their tour this December 2021.   

Pillow Queens have released the tribute single as part of a new charity album labelled ‘Salvation’. This album is due to come out in October 2021 and the entire tracklist is inspired by Limerick legends The Cranberries. The album consists of thirteen tracks that are covered by various Irish contemporary artists.  

The tribute album is in honour of Irish based charity Pieta. Pieta work to prevent suicide and self-harm, they currently operate fifteen centres and five outreach service across Ireland.    


Here is the rest of the tracklist for Salvation: 

01 Sinead O’Connor – “No Need To Argue” 
02 Irish Women In Harmony – “Dreams” 
03 Pillow Queens – “When You’re Gone” 
04 Moncrieff – “Free to Decide” 
05 Wyvern Lingo – “Salvation” 
06 Aimée – “Linger” 
07 Walking on Cars – “Promises” 
08 Kodaline with The RTE Orchestra Featuring Noel Hogan – “Zombie (Live)” 
09 The Cranberries – “Chocolate Brown (Recorded Live for 2FM)” 
10 Kitt Philippa – “Twenty-One” 
11 Roe – “Can’t Be With You” 
12 True Tides – “Ode to My Family” 
13 Kellie Lewis – “Ridiculous Thoughts” 

Salvation will be released on October 1, 2021, and will be available on all popular streaming platforms. 


For more information pre-order the Salvation Tribute Album go HERE 

For more stories on The Cranberries go HERE 


Richard is a presenter, producer, songwriter and actor. He was named the Limerick Person of the Year (2011) and won an online award at the Metro Éireann Media and Multicultural Awards (2011) for promoting multi-culturalism online. Richard says that the concept is very much a community driven project that aims to document life in Limerick. So, that in 20 years time people can look back and remember the events that were making the headlines.