Connect with us
RDS Irish Forestry Awards RDS Irish Forestry Awards


RDS Irish Forestry Awards are calling on Limerick Foresters to Enter to Win a €9,000 Prize Fund

RDS Irish Forestry Awards: Deborah Meghan, Mark O’Loughlin and Brian Fogarty accept the 2019 Multipurpose Forestry Award on behalf of Cratloe Woods

RDS Irish Forestry Awards are calling on Limerick Foresters to Enter to Win a €9,000 Prize Fund

The Annual RDS-Forest Service Awards are Ireland’s national forestry awards and are part of the RDS Spring Awards. They are divided into three main categories which highlight, celebrate and reward those who are at the forefront of the economic, environmental and community development of the forestry sector in Ireland.

A prize fund of €9,000 should encourage foresters to apply for the 32nd RDS-Forest Service Irish Forestry Awards which are now accepting entries. Prizes span the full range of possible forestry use, from small public amenities to large commercial operations. Anyone with woodland is eligible to enter. In fact, you can even nominate friends and neighbours.




RDS Irish Forestry Awards

Pictured: John O’Connell, Kilcornan, former winner.

Dr Michael Carey of the RDS Committee of Agriculture and Rural Affairs said, “From the magnificent and historic Cratloe Woods to the innovative 10-hectare plantation of John O’Connell, Kilcornan, both former winners, the Awards reveal inspiring examples of the benefits and diversity of forestry in Ireland. The woodlands and forestry of Co. Limerick are some of the most productive and picturesque in the country, and we know that there are many great people in the area that we have yet to recognise but they need to apply first to have a chance to win.”

Award winners of each category: Production Forestry, Teagsac Farm Forestry and Community Woodlands, will be announced at the 2020 RDS Spring Awards which will take place in the RDS Concert Hall in April next year. The winner in each of the above categories will receive €2,000 and an RDS Silver Medal. The runner-up in each category will receive €1,000 and the RDS Certificate of Merit Category winners will also receive a specially commissioned trophy.

Focusing on sustainable, climate-smart agriculture, the RDS Spring Awards has gone from strength to strength in recent years and attract over 250 attendees.

The RDS is calling on farmers, landowners and community groups in Co. Limerick to enter now for their chance to share in the €9,000 prize fund. The closing date is Friday, July 26. Application forms are available at or via [email protected] or call 01 240 7215.

For more information about the RDS Irish Forestry Awards visit

For more similar stories go here

Richard is a presenter, producer, songwriter and actor. He was named the Limerick Person of the Year (2011) and won an online award at the Metro Éireann Media and Multicultural Awards (2011) for promoting multi-culturalism online. Richard says that the concept is very much a community driven project that aims to document life in Limerick. So, that in 20 years time people can look back and remember the events that were making the headlines.