Connect with us
Smarter Travel Student MultiMedia Awards 2016 Smarter Travel Student MultiMedia Awards 2016


Smarter Travel Student MultiMedia Awards 2016




Smarter Travel Student MultiMedia Awards 2016 – Pictured above Vincent O’Dea, John Bowman, Gavin O’Regan, Eoin Walsh, Chris Burk and Mark Spavlovskis.

Limerick Students win at Smarter Travel Student MultiMedia Awards 2016

Students from colleges in Limerick have been awarded for creating fantastic videos, animations and poster illustrations for the National Transport Authority’s annual Multimedia Awards 2016 held in the Belltable, Limerick yesterday.



The entries produced by students encourage others to choose ‘smarter’ modes of transport, particularly walking, cycling, public transport and car sharing, while a few entries even included skateboarding.

“We are delighted with the quality of entries that we received and our judges were equally impressed.  The students’ multimedia entries were both entertaining and captured the positive aspects of making smart transport choices for the journey to college, ” said Anne Graham, Chief Executive Officer, National Transport Authority.

Smarter Travel Student MultiMedia Awards 2016

Pictured above: Hanora Hartnett, John Wynne, Jackie McNamara, Thomas Skilly, Dominic McNamara, Lisa Hester, Cleo Chapman, Lee Triantafillidis and Audrey Fitzgerald

Miriam O’Donoghue, Project Manager with Limerick Smarter Travel highlighted the importance of such awards: “The National Transport Authority’s Multimedia Awards not only showcase the smarter travel options that Limerick has to offer but provides us with some amazing imagery of our city produced by extremely talented students from our local campuses. The images created by the students and the relationships created will add a new dimension to the Limerick Smarter Travel programme, funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport.”

The overall winners of this award were Kate Healy and Laura Meaney from Limerick Institute of Technology for their fantastic video Walking isn’t that ruff and Lisa Lorraine Hester from Limerick College of Further Education for her magnificent artistic illustration.

“The awards offered us a great opportunity to put into practice what we study during our course at LIT. The concept for our video was to explore the historic streets and forgotten beautiful locations in and around Limerick from the perspective of our wonderful actor Hooch, the dog. We are just over the moon at winning the award and representing Limerick in the Smarter Travel Multimedia Awards” said winning student Kate Healy.

“The Smarter Travel Multimedia Awards offers the students an excellent environment to showcase their creative and digital story telling skills within a real world scenario. We are delighted to have won the award in 2015 and to win again this year demonstrates the high calibre of both our students and our programme,” added Denise McEvoy, Lecturer BSc in Multimedia Programming & Design.

In second place was Michael Boyle from the University of Limerick and Rebecca Walsh from Limerick College of Further Education who produced a brilliant video and poster respectively. A special prize was also awarded to a group of students from the University of Limerick who wrote a musical rap promoting the benefits of walking and cycling.

The winning entries can be viewed on

The Smarter Travel Campus Multimedia Awards are organised by the National Transport Authority. This was the second year this award was held. It was open to third level institutions who are partners of the Smarter Travel Campus programme.

Read more about Smarter Travel here.

Keep up with Smarter Travel on Twitter here.

Richard is a presenter, producer, songwriter and actor. He was named the Limerick Person of the Year (2011) and won an online award at the Metro Éireann Media and Multicultural Awards (2011) for promoting multi-culturalism online. Richard says that the concept is very much a community driven project that aims to document life in Limerick. So, that in 20 years time people can look back and remember the events that were making the headlines.