Connect with us


Focus on photography with SMEDIAs recognition for College of FET learners



College of FET Mulgrave Street Campus Photography learners picked up two major awards at the 2024 National Student Media Awards. Pictured are Áine Flynn, Jake Rowat, Pat Shortt, with Eoin McCarthy; and Céline Mermier and Evan Doherty. Picture: Helen O’Callaghan

College of FET Mulgrave Street Campus, celebrated this week, by picking up two major awards at the SMEDIAs

College of FET Mulgrave Street Campus Photography learners picked up two major awards at the 2024 National Student Media Awards
Áine Flynn, Ben Santon, Eoin McCarthy, and ‘Photographer of the Year’ winner Céline Mermier, with Evan Doherty. Picture: Helen O’Callaghan

The National Student Media Awards took place in The Mansion House, Dublin on Wednesday last, where a number of learners were shortlisted for ‘News Photographer of the year’ and ‘Photographer of the Year’. Jake Rowat, Gerard O’Brien and Allison Bendey did the college proud in the first category, with Jake Rowat (Level 5), taking the sought-after title ‘News Photographer of the Year’.  In the second category Maia Gosseau and Céline Mermier were shortlisted with Céline Mermier a Level 6 learner taking the coveted title ‘Photographer of the Year’.

On receiving the award Jake said “It feels great to even be considered in this category. It was a huge shock when I heard my name being called. I’m just happy that I was in the company of so many great peers and mentors who have provided me with so much inspiration over this past year”

Accepting her award Céline commented “Receiving such a prestigious award was an incredible moment that came at the end of my 2 years of work at the college. I see it as an encouragement to always surpass myself! I still don’t believe it.”

College of FET Mulgrave Street Campus has a very successful history in the ‘SMEDIAs’, with Photography learners from the College previously picking up awards in the ‘News Photographer of the Year’, ‘Sports Photographer of the Year’ & overall ‘Photographer of the Year’ categories. To date they have received a total of 15 awards.

Áine Flynn, ‘News Photographer of the Year’ winner Jake Rowat, Pat Shortt, and Eoin McCarthy. Picture: Helen O’Callaghan

Eoin McCarthy, Head of Creative Media Department, commented: “I would like to congratulate Jake and Céline on winning these awards and to thank all of our Photography learners who submitted their work to this year’s event. Our success in the ‘SMEDIAs’ is all the more significant, given that we are competing against 3rd Level college students in all the different categories.”

He continued: “It’s great for the reputation of the College and really good to see that our learners are competing against the very best. I look forward to continuing to showcase and promote our learners’ work into the future.”

Find out more about Limerick and Clare Education & Training Board
Read more Limerick and Clare ETB stories

Richard is a presenter, producer, songwriter and actor. He was named the Limerick Person of the Year (2011) and won an online award at the Metro Éireann Media and Multicultural Awards (2011) for promoting multi-culturalism online. Richard says that the concept is very much a community driven project that aims to document life in Limerick. So, that in 20 years time people can look back and remember the events that were making the headlines.