Connect with us
EVA International 2018 Artist List EVA International 2018 Artist List


EVA International 2018 artist list announced 56 new artists

EVA International 2018 artist list announced 56 new artists

EVA International 2018 artist list announced, with its starting point from the painting Night Candles are Burnt Out (1927) by Irish artist Seán Keating. The painting presents an allegory of the Irish psyche at the advent of the construction of Ardnacrusha, a hydroelectric dam, built that same year on the border of County Limerick.

Ardnacrusha was a symbol of early twentieth-century engineering, which accelerated the Irish economy and radically shifted the society of the new state. Keating’s painting depicts a host of characters set against the backdrop of the construction site, whose lives are set to change by the dawning of a new era of technological progress.

Included in the exhibition, ‘Night Candles are Burnt Out’ takes part in the dialogue of contemporary and historical artworks addressing narratives on nationhood, electricity, and the metaphors of power. Rather than a monolithic thematic exhibition, the biennial exhibition proposes itself as a kaleidoscope of essayistic, retinal and bodily narratives of artistic presentation, featuring: new commissions by Malala Andrialavidrazana (Madagascar/France), Sam Keogh (Ireland), and John Rainey (N. Ireland); large-scale installations by John Gerrard (Ireland/Austria) and Sanja Iveković (Croatia); works by modernist visionaries of the 1930s Mainie Jellett (Ireland) and Eileen Gray (Ireland/France); and the experimental approaches of artists from the late twentieth century, including Bruce Conner (USA) andLocky Morris (Ireland/N. Ireland). The generational scope follows a proposition by curator Inti Guerrero of thinking the biennial as a ‘temporary museum’ where the past is reframed to enable a critical perspective on the present.

The 38th EVA International has no title, breaking with a tradition of the biennial that dates back to 1990. This decision, taken by Guerrero is designed to emphasize the word ‘International’ that is central to EVA’s identity. Guerrero explains, “in our current state of nationalisms, hard-borders, protectionism and a complete change of course in humanity, where the liberal belief of a ‘never again’ seems to be dismantling, the word ‘International’ suddenly carries an important weight worth embracing. Since its foundation in 1977 in Limerick, EVA has been a forerunner in understanding the world through art in a transnational, transcultural, international dialogue, presenting its contradictions, anxieties, and possibilities.” 

The EVA International 2018 artist list includes the work of 56 artists/collectives. 32% of artists/collectives are from Ireland and 38 artists are from 27 other countries including The Netherlands, Hong Kong, Yugoslavia, Dominican Republic, Brazil, Iran, Egypt, Nicaragua, Chile, Nigeria, UK, Italy, Madagascar, South Korea, Lebanon, Venezuela, Panama, France, Thailand, Croatia, Colombia, South Africa, Cuba, Indonesia, USA, and Japan.

The 38th EVA International includes the work of seven past EVA participants: John Gerrard (2001, 2003), Rita Duffy (1999, 2001), Julie Merriman (2003), Isabel Nolan (1998, 2012), Sanja Iveković (2012), and Sam Keogh (2012).

EVA International 2018 artist list below contains the 56 artists who will participate in the 2018 edition: 

Inji Aflatoun

  1. 1924 – d. 1989 Egypt


Peju Alatise

  1. 1975 Nigeria


Malala Andrialavidrazana

b.1971 Madagascar/France


Alexander Apóstol

  1. 1969 Venezuela/Spain


Artists’ Campaign to Repeal the Eighth Amendment

  1. 2015 Ireland


Jaime Ávila

  1. 1968 Colombia


Akiq AW

b.1976 Indonesia


Patricia Belli

  1. 1964 Nicaragua


Colin Booth

  1. 1951 UK


Lee Bul

b.1964 South Korea


José Castrellón

  1. 1980 Panama


Viriya Chotpanyavisut

  1. 1982 Thailand


Steven Cohen

  1. 1962 South Africa/France


Bruce Conner

  1. 1933 – d. 2008 USA


Juan Dávila

  1. 1946 Chile/Australia


Patrizio di Massimo

  1. 1983 Italy/UK


Roy Dib

  1. 1983 Lebanon


Rita Duffy

  1. 1959 N. Ireland


Adrian Duncan and Feargal Ward

  1. 1978 Ireland/Germany
  2. 1976 Ireland/Germany


John Duncan

  1. 1968 N. Ireland


Juan Pablo Echeverri

b.1978 Colombia


Gonzalo Fuenmayor

  1. 1977 Colombia/USA


John Gerrard

  1. 1974 Ireland/Austria


Dominique Gonzalez Foerster

  1. 1965 France/Brazil


Alejandro González Iñárritu

b.1963 Mexico/USA


Laurent Grasso

  1. 1972 France


Eileen Gray

  1. 1878 – d. 1976 Ireland/France


Claire Halpin

  1. 1973 Ireland


Sanja Iveković

  1. 1949 Croatia


Mainie Jellett

  1. 1897 – d. 1944 Ireland


Uchechukwu James-Iroha

  1. 1972 Nigeria


Seán Keating

  1. 1889 – d. 1977 Ireland


Sam Keogh

  1. 1985 Ireland         


Marie-Claire Messouma Manlanbien

  1. 1990 France


Napoles Marty

  1. 1982 Cuba/Spain


Francis Matthews

  1. 1981 Ireland


Julie Merriman

  1. 1963 Ireland


Kevin Mooney

  1. 1973 Ireland


Locky Morris

  1. 1960 N. Ireland


Isabel Nolan

  1. 1974 Ireland


Masahito Ono

  1. 1983 Japan/USA     


David Pérez Karmadavis

  1. 1976 Dominican Republic


John Rainey

  1. 1985 N. Ireland


Dan Rees

  1. 1982 UK


Marlon T. Riggs

  1. 1957 – d. 1994 USA


Sutthirat Supaparinya

  1. 1973 Thailand


Beto Shwafaty

  1. 1977 Brazil


Mina Talaee

  1. 1985 Iran


Jenna Tas

  1. 1933 The Netherlands


Darn Thorn

  1. 1975 Ireland


Top Lista Nadrealista

  1. 1984 – 1991 Yugoslavia


Nicolás Vizcaíno

  1. 1991 Colombia


Ian Wieczorek

  1. 1958 UK/Ireland


Liu Xiaodong

  1. 1963 China


Trevor Yeung

  1. 1988 Hong Kong


For more stories on EVA International, go here.

For more information on EVA International, go here.

Richard is a presenter, producer, songwriter and actor. He was named the Limerick Person of the Year (2011) and won an online award at the Metro Éireann Media and Multicultural Awards (2011) for promoting multi-culturalism online. Richard says that the concept is very much a community driven project that aims to document life in Limerick. So, that in 20 years time people can look back and remember the events that were making the headlines.