Connect with us
UL Alumni Awards 2017 UL Alumni Awards 2017


Four UL Alumni Honoured at Annual UL Alumni Awards 2017

Entrepreneurs David Jeffreys and John Savage, Businesswoman Clodagh Cavanagh, and U.S. based charity founder Tim Kenny honoured at UL Alumni Awards 2017. Picture: Keith Wiseman.

Four UL Alumni Honoured at Annual UL Alumni Awards 2017

The University of Limerick Alumni has bestowed its highest honour on four of the University’s outstanding graduates at the 12th Annual UL Alumni Awards 2017 Gala Dinner on Saturday, November 11.

This annual event celebrates the outstanding achievements of Graduates of the University of Limerick and this year is no exception with four UL alumni honoured. They are:

Tipperary businesswoman Ms. Clodagh Cavanagh, Managing Director of agricultural manufacturer Abbey Machinery for her contribution to Business.

U.S. based Mr. Tim Kenny, originally from Kerry who co-founded the St Baldrick’s Foundation in support of childhood cancer research for his contribution to Society;

Limerick-based Mr. David Jeffreys and Mr. John Savage, Co-Founders of Action Point Technology Group receiving a Joint Award for their Contribution to Entrepreneurship;

Speaking at the UL Alumni Awards Gala Dinner, UL President Dr. Des Fitzgerald said “Tonight’s event is very much a celebration of the achievements and contributions of four amazing people. They are imbued with the UL spirit that we all aspire to and want to preserve and propagate. The achievements of these four alumni and their contributions to their communities are models that we believe are based on the foundations they received during their time at UL. That is why I am so delighted to join with all present to celebrate Clodagh, Tim, David, and John”.

The 2017 UL Alumni Awards celebration, sponsored by Bank of Ireland, took place at Limerick’s Castletroy Park Hotel, with UL alumna Juliette Gash, Senior News Correspondent with Today FM as MC.

Over 250 guests from the University, business, and wider community attended this black-tie dinner which was also supported by Analog Devices Ireland, GE Capital Aviation Services (GECAS), Ronan Daly Jermyn (RDJ) Solicitors and Stryker Ireland.

Since its inception in 2006, forty  UL alumni have now been honoured including rugby legend Tony Ward, composer Patrick Cassidy, CEO & President (EMEA) of Kerry Ingredients Eoin O’Connell, former Riverdance star Jean Butler, former Chief Executive of the Kentz Corporation Dr Hugh O’Donnell, acclaimed Irish artist Alice Maher, Boeing Commercial Engineer of the Year Dr Pio Fitzgerald, former All-Ireland Kerry Footballer Pat Spillane, entrepreneur & CEO of Dairymaster Dr Edmond Harty, former Minister for the Diaspora Jimmy Deenihan, former Chief of Staff of the Irish Defence Forces, the late Lt. Gen. Dermot Earley and award-winning former Cork Camogie Captain and TV personality Anna Geary.

To find out more about the University of Limerick click here 

To read our previous story on UL Alumni click here





Richard is a presenter, producer, songwriter and actor. He was named the Limerick Person of the Year (2011) and won an online award at the Metro Éireann Media and Multicultural Awards (2011) for promoting multi-culturalism online. Richard says that the concept is very much a community driven project that aims to document life in Limerick. So, that in 20 years time people can look back and remember the events that were making the headlines.