Connect with us


Aaron Gillane crowned Hurler of the Year 2023



Aaron Gillane was named 2023 Hurler of the Year capping off an incredible year of hurling for Limerick

Aaron Gillane named 2023 Hurler of the Year in a weekend of Limerick honours including 7 All-Star awards in Team of The Year for the Treaty County

By Cian Reinhardt, Editor

Aaron Gillane named 2023 Hurler of the Year in weekend of Limerick honours including 7 All-Star awards in Team of The Year
A total of seven Limerick players made the 2023 All Star Team

Limerick’s Aaron Gillane was crowned the PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year at the PwC All-Stars at Dublin’s RDS on Friday, November 17.

The award capped off an incredible showing of Limerick hurlers who dominated the PwC team of the year and took up seven spots on the list of best hurlers in the sport.



Gillane is the latest Patrickswell player to receive the accolade following Diarmaid Byrnes who was last year’s winner, and history-making two-time winner Cian Lynch who became the second player to ever win the award twice, matching Kilkenny’s Henry Shefflin in 2021 and also winning the award in 2018.

Gillane was hotly tipped to take home the award following an incredible 2023 campaign by the Treaty team which saw them come from behind on many occasions through inspired Gillane performances.

Gillane was named as full forward on the PwC Hurling All-Stars and tormented defences in the league, provincial, and All-Ireland hurling, scoring 5-68 (3-42 in championship games) for the Shannon-siders on their way to winning a fourth All-Ireland Championship in a row.

Speaking with John Harrington Chief Correspondent for, Gillane was quick to remember his teammates, saying, “Obviously the most important thing is that we got the All-Ireland medal and that’s one we can all remember as a group and as a team.”

Gillane joins six of his Limerick teammates in the PwC GAA/GPA Team of the Year with Diarmaid Byrnes and Kyle Hayes winning their fourth straight All-Star award.

An all-Limerick selection makes up the midfield with Darragh O’Donovan and Will O’Donoghue, and Dan and Tom Morrisey picking up their third all-stars.

All-Ireland finalists, Kilkenny made up another five spots on the team, with Galways picking up one spot, and Clare grabbing two.

Also announced on the night was Clare’s Mark Rodgers as PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year capping off a strong Munster and Midwest showing in the Team of the Year selection.

Find out more here.
Read more sports stories here.

Richard is a presenter, producer, songwriter and actor. He was named the Limerick Person of the Year (2011) and won an online award at the Metro Éireann Media and Multicultural Awards (2011) for promoting multi-culturalism online. Richard says that the concept is very much a community driven project that aims to document life in Limerick. So, that in 20 years time people can look back and remember the events that were making the headlines.